July 7, 2022

July 2022 Legislative Update

Legislative Update 

Florida qualifying for all statewide candidates and Congressional members has been finalized. It is a reapportionment year; so, many members have been drawn into new districts.

Several Candidates are unopposed including the incoming Senate President Kathleen Passidomo-R Naples.

Other Senators who were elected without opposition are Republican Senators: Jennifer Bradley, Gayle Harrell, Ana María-Rodriguez, Ben Albritten (Senate President designated after Sen Passidomo) and Debbie Mayfield. Democratic Senators elected without opposition are: Senators Jason Pizzo, Bobby Powell, and Rosalind Osgood. 

Three Republican House members who were running for Senate seats were all elected without opposition:  Clay Yarborough (Aaron Bean’s seat), Erin Grall (newly created treasure coast seat), and Bryan Avila (Sen Manny Diaz’s seat). Also new to the process is Republican Jonathan Martin who won’t have opposition for Senate District 33 which was Sen Ray Rodrigues’s seat.

More than 20 House Candidates will be Re-elected without opposition. I will go into more details on the House during the FRS summer conference.

Of note – We have two radiologist’s wives running for election to the Florida House. Robyn Hattaway is running in a newly created Daytona/Space Coast seat and Karen Pittman is running in the open seat created by Rep Jackie Toledo leaving to run for a newly created Congressional seat.  

Governor DeSantis drew no primary opposition and will face the winner of the Democratic primary which most likely will be Charlie Crist. Current polling shows the Governor winning against Crist – 54% to 42%. The same poll shows a three-seat loss for the Democrats in Congress. 

I look forward to seeing everyone at the summer conference in Amelia Island. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions regarding the upcoming elections.

Alison Dudley
Lobbyist, FRS

Leave a Reply